World votes for Palestine’s bid for full UN membership

Former President Maithripala Sirisena has resigned from the post of Chairman of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

Subsequently, the Executive Committee of the SLFP has unanimously voted to appoint Justice Minister Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe as the new Chairman of the party.

The appointment was made during the executive committee meeting of the party held at a hotel in Kotte today (12).